Coconut Cake Recipe!

August 9, 2008

This is my husbands favorite cake, which I made for his birthday.
I thought i’d post a how-to since its so delicious! The recipe came from his mom.

Ingredients:
Cake mix
(cake mix ingredients)
Cool whip
Crushed Pineapple
Crushed Walnuts (optional)
Shredded coconut

I started with a box of cake mix. I used Duncan Hines Coconut Cake mix. You can use any brand, coconut, yellow or white.

Mix it up and pour the batter in a pan:

Photobucket

After the cake is done, let it cool completely. It really needs to be at least most of the way cool before you put the frosting on.

Photobucket

Now, mix the cool whip with a small can of crushed pineapple. (keep the cool whip in the refrigerator not the freezer so it will be softer.) Make sure you drain the pineapple first!

Photobucket

Spread it on the cake.

Now, just sprinkle the shredded coconut on top and you’re done! (I added crushed walnuts too but they’re totally optional)

Photobucket

This cake is delicious, and it tastes 100 times better when its been refrigerated for a little while!

My cat was watching me with this curious look the whole time. lol.

Photobucket

6 Responses to “Coconut Cake Recipe!”

  1. Bethany Says:

    That looks soooooo delicious. I wish I could come eat a bite!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    there’s only one piece left! lol. It went really fast!

  3. Dar Says:

    Drain the crushed pineapple or with the juice?
    It looks very yummy.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Should have mentioned that, sorry! You need to drain it first. I will edit that right now 🙂

  5. AlexM Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

  6. Jennifer Says:

    thank you!


Leave a Reply

